It's time for relief!
Ancient Roots strives to ensure you feel informed and prepared to take the next steps in your decision to use medical marijuana. We want patients to feel informed and empowered when deciding to use medical marijuana and when entering a dispensary to discuss your various options within the program. Taking steps to learn about medical marijuana is essential to patient success within the program.
To access medical marijuana in Ohio, you must become a registered patient with the State Board of Pharmacy. Those wishing to become patients must meet the following qualifications when submitting their application:
- Be 18 years or older. If a prospective patient is younger than eighteen years of age, a patient registration submission must be accompanied by a caregiver registration submission
- Be an Ohio state resident with proof of residency
- Have a diagnosis or confirmation of a qualifying medical condition from a physician that is certified to recommend and consent to treatment with medical marijuana
Under Ohio law, the following are qualifying medical conditions:
- AIDS (Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome)
- ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis)
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Chronic traumatic encephalopathy
- Crohn’s disease
- Epilepsy or another seizure disorder
- Hepatitis C
- Inflammatory bowel disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Pain that is either chronic and severe or intractable
- Parkinson’s disease
- Positive status for HIV
- PTSD (Post-traumatic Stress Disorder)
- Sickle cell anemia
- Spinal cord disease or injury
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Traumatic brain injury
- Ulcerative colitis
Obtain your physician-submitted patient registration form
One of the requirements for completing a patient application is to have your qualified condition confirmed by a physician and having them submit that information to the state, as part of your application. Although this process can seem messy or overwhelming, following the rules closely should help ease the process. To complete this part of the application, it is easier to look at as two separate steps:
Find a Physician
A physician must provide a written recommendation for the use of medical marijuana for your specific condition. Those physicians who can provide recommendations must have unrestricted MD or DO licenses from the State Medical Board of Ohio, as well as be Certified to Recommend (CTR) from the State Medical Board of Ohio. If your primary care physician is not registered with the State Medical Board of Ohio to recommend medical marijuana, you will need to form a bonafide relationship with a recommending physician who is. If you are wondering what physicians in Ohio are certified to recommend, State Medical Board of Ohio keeps an updated list of physicians available on their website.
Obtain your patient registration form
The physician you choose to develop your bonafide relationship with, whether your PCP or a new physician, is responsible for submitting a patient registration form on your behalf. This patient registration form confirms the diagnosis of your qualifying condition. It also confirms your consent, as a patient, to being recommended medical marijuana. Your physician will submit this registration form, however all additional application requirements (proof of residency, etc.) must be submitted within 90 days from the date the recommendation was provided.
Pay the application fee
The annual fee for patient registration is $50 and the annual fee for a caregiver registration of $25. Both patients and caregivers are required to pay their fees when submitting their separate applications.
To maintain a valid patient registration, you will need to renew annually before the expiration date stated on your registry identification. For those patients diagnosed terminally ill, registration is required to be renewed every 6 months.
If you have more questions about how to register, you can call The Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program Toll-Free Helpline at 1-833-4OH-MMCP (1-833-464-6627)